Not So Deep Thoughts

Part V: Just Like Starting Over

Review: Hot In Cleveland

Posted by jkhutchins on June 17, 2010

Betty White is on a tear right now.  Now, I’ve liked her for years.  She was wonderful as Sue Ann Nivens, great on the Golden Girls, and a hell of a Pyramid player.   So, I’ve been in complete approval of the Betty White renaissance.  I was amused when SNL, having finally given in on having Betty White host, arranged for a bunch of women to back her up because she was old and they didn’t really think she was up to it.  Hah.  While she definitely needed cue cards, she still had better comic timing than the rest of the cast put together.

So, I’ve been anxious to see Hot in Cleveland.  It looked very sitcomy to me, but I was willing to give it a shot.  The rest of the cast looked promising.

The show is in fact very sitcomy.  It has sitcom timing and blocking.  The show itself is reminiscent of Golden Girls or Designing Women.  But that isn’t criticism.  Both of those shows had a great cast and smart writing.  As does Hot in Cleveland.  Wendie Malick, Valerie Bertinelli and Jane Leeves are good, professional actresses, and have a nice rapport.  They seem to be having a good time.  Betty White, of course, is wonderful.

The other thing I liked about the show is that it features older women in a human light.  They aren’t all cougars.  They aren’t ashamed of their age.  The characters treat each other with affection.

I am not going to make an effort to see it every week.  I don’t really do that with any show with the possible exception of Daily Show/Colbert – and even so I don’t have a Tivo.  If I have other things to do, I do them.  But if I am home, and I remember it’s on, I will watch this show.  It’s very likeable, even if it isn’t revolutionary.

Good on you, Betty.

Leave a Reply

 
